top of page
No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

theBalm Mary-Lou Manizer


Over the last year, highlighters have been extremely hyped up in the makeup world and I am definitely on that bandwagon! I absolutely adore highlighters and I wear it every single day without fail! I love the way it looks on the skin, adding a glow and a gorgeous sheen to the skin. Ever since I started wearing highlighter I have been wearing the exact same one so I thought it was time for a change! One of the most popular highlights on the market is almost definitely theBalm’s Mary-Lou Manizer so I thought it was about time I tried it! When I received it in the post I was so excited and could not wait to try it! The packaging is so gorgeous and I love it! It comes in a square box and I think it is supposed to look like a criminal file. It has a cream coloured background with lines and measures on and then a blonde haired girl stood in front of it; she is wearing red lipstick and I have serious lip envy because her lips are so juicy and plump! It also has a grey board with offences, charges and antonyms written on it. On the back are fingerprints and the attention to detail is amazing! Every little thing is down to a T and there is no mistakes anywhere! The actual highlighter is in a circular compact which has the same pattern as the front of the box. It is a silver colour and the quality is great! It is not cheap and is very secure so it won’t open in a makeup bag and it doesn’t feel like it would break easily! On the packaging it says ‘offense: highlighter, shimmer, eyeshadow; charge: too pretty, too popular; antonym: womanizer'. I love the way it's set out and it is so clever how they have done it because it's just so creative; it also has a stamp with 'Mary-Lou Manizer' on. Inside the compact is a big mirror and it's so useful! Sometimes they just have a small mirror that you can't use for anything but I use this one everyday to apply my full face of makeup! It fills the whole section of the lid and then opposite to that holds the gorgeous highlight itself! I cannot get over how gorgeous it actually is and I love it so much. In the pan it doesn't look that shimmery but when swatched and applied to the face it is beautiful. Normally I would go for silvery, pink highlighters and wouldn't pick golden ones for my skin tone because they tend to look too dark and they don't suit me at all. But this one is perfect! It is a champagney gold and looks great on my cheekbones, if I do say so myself! The shimmer in it is unreal and when I apply it with my brush I can almost hear the angels singing! When I put it on over my foundation I have to wait a moment and breathe in because it is just that stunning! The champagne colour has golden flecks running through it and it reflects from the light which is so flattering on the skin. I have heard a lot of people say that they wouldn't wear this if they didn't want a strong highlight but I think that it is definitely buildable. You can have it subtle if applied with a light hand or layer it for more of an out there highlight. It lasts all day and sits on the skin so nicely. You can also use it as an eyeshadow which works really well as an all over lid colour or just for the middle of the lid although I would recommend using a primer or base with it because the pigmentation on the eyes isn't as great as on the cheekbones. TheBalm have two more highlights in their collection(Cindy and Betty) and I would love to try those also as I was so impressed with this one! I love the packaging, the product and everything about it! I'm not sure I have any criticism on it and I totally understand what the hype is! The retail price for this is £17.50 but they currently have it on Beautyspin for just £12.90 and just $20.90 at Beautyspin US which is super cheap because it is an incredible product! If you love highlighters, or just makeup in general, then you should definitely try this because it is just an all round amazing product! I have been using this everyday since I got it and cherish this greatly!

bottom of page