top of page
No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

TonyMoly Face Masks


For quite a long time a lot of people have been raving about Korean skincare and beauty products so I thought it was about time that I tried some! One of the most popular brands is TonyMoly so I decided to try some of their products. I bought four of their masks so I thought I’d let you know what I thought about them! As far as I am aware, there aren’t any retail stores that stock TonyMoly in the UK but they are pretty easy to buy online. I bought mine from eBay and they were so much cheaper than I expected! I payed £2.20 for the sheet masks, £1.50 for the pore mask and £1.90 for the eye mask so it was amazing value! On the US TonyMoly site the sheet masks are $4 which is £2.78(yes I did my research as always!) so the ones I got actually worked out cheaper than America which hardly ever happens! The pore mask is $1.50 which is £1.04 and the eye mask is $3 and that converts to £2.08 so they are overall very cheap! I picked up 4 different masks and I’m going to tell you all about them!

I picked up two of the ‘I’m Real’ masks and the first one I tried was the Rice Mask for clear skin. First of all, I love the packaging! Each one comes in a thin packet which is very compact and great for travelling because it takes up hardly any room in your bag and if you are on a long haul flight this will be great to perk up your skin! It has a big picture on the front which has the main ingredient on it and text at the top saying what the mask actually does which is really helpful. The rice one has a beige packet and a big picture of a rice plant or something on the front; let’s face it, I’m not the biggest plant person! Another good thing about the packaging is the instructions and ingredients on the back. It has Korean writing at the top but then thankfully it has English at the bottom. It also has a picture of how you put it on which is great because sometimes instructions just don't work with me! I've never used a sheet mask before so I was excited but apprehensive to try. When I opened the packet it was folded and it was so wet and it was soaked in product! I wasn't really a fan of the feeling in my hands as it was quite difficult to hold but when it was on my face it felt so cooling and refreshing! It was slightly wet and at one point a little bit of the liquid dripped into my eye which stung a little but after that it was fine. The mask is thin, soft and consists of four holes; mouth, eyes and nose. The nose hole is quite large and makes it really easy to breathe unlike some masks that have these tiny holes and you can hardly inhale and exhale! When you first apply it, it feels wet and uncomfortable but after a couple of minutes it feels quite nice and it's great if you have had a long, busy day and you just want to pamper yourself! It is recommended that you leave this on for 20-30 minutes and I left it for 20. When I took it off, my skin still had some of the product on so I just rubbed and patted it in and my skin felt amazing! I have oily skin so it is hard to find a mask that doesn't over exaggerate my pores and that oil but this one is perfect! My skin felt hydrated, but not oily, and the oil was balanced leaving my pores tightened and it felt great! It brightened my complexion and moisturised my face. The scent of this wasn't too strong and it was fresh and quite cottony. I would say it smells quite milky and like the popular fresh linen scents. This is supposed to be really good for sensitive, tired and dehydrated skin but it worked great for my oily skin!

The other sheet mask I have is the Makgeolli Skin Purifying Mask. It is the exact same concept as the rice one but just does different things. I have to say, I find these masks tingle a little when you put them on but it doesn't hurt and really doesn't bother me at all! This says it 'makes uneven skin tone look radiant and glowing'. I don't think I really have uneven skin however I thought this one looked good so tried it out anyway! The liquid that is left over is a milky colour and it smells so nice! Like the rice one, it is a very creamy fresh scent and is a little like fresh cotton. I did have a bit of an issue getting this one out of the packet because I ripped it in a couple of places but don't worry, I fixed it! I'm not going to say too much on how it feels on the skin because it is the same as rice one so I'll get onto what it did to my skin! It almost had the same effect as the rice one and it left my skin looking so glowing! My pores were hidden and it drew all of the oil from the surface of my skin. I was left with a luminous glow to but it didn't look oily whatsoever! I love this mask and I would definitely buy it again!

I have tried quite a few pore masks and they haven’t overly impressed me. However, I am always up for trying different ones and this one looked really intriguing and unusual to me. It is the egg pore nose pack. The mask is infused with purifying charcoal, strengthening camellia and tightening egg white extract. Each one comes in a beige coloured sachet with a fried egg on the front and it is very cute! The pore strip itself looks the same as pore strips I have tried before. It comes on a clear sheet and is in a curvy shape that fits around the nose easily. You peel it from the sheet, wet your nose and stick it over your nose and pores. The product is on the sticky side so over the time it is on your face it gets into your pores. You are supposed to leave it on for 10-15 minutes and it feels comfortable and sits nicely around the nose. It does have a scent but it isn’t strong at all. As soon as I smelled it, I thought it smelled like nuts. Nothing about it smells like egg which I would consider a good thing because I don’t like the smell of eggs and I’m not sure many people do! The scent is a little medicated but it smells very very nutty. When you have it on, you can tell you have it on but it isn’t irritating at all. I left it on for 15 minutes and peeled it off but it still had some of the product on the strip. Some of the product did transfer onto my nose which I just washed off after and my pores felt so nice! Actually, it didn’t even feel like I had any pores when I first removed it! It picked up all of the oil from my pores and removed some of my blackheads. After around an hour, the tightening begins to loosen and the oil came back a little but it isn’t as oily as my skin normally is! It left my skin feeling great and it is definitely one of the best pore masks I have tried and I will probably be repurchasing this!

Something that I was really intrigued by was this Panda's Dream Eye Patch. I haven't seen many eye patches around and I really wanted to try it! I have quite dark under eyes so I was really excited to see if this relieved them. First of all the packaging is extremely cute, as always! It has a big cartoon panda on the front and light and dark pink rays surrounding it. The font is curvy and a deep pink. It's simple but I think it is so adorable! This is designed to vitalise the skin around the eyes that appear dark and dull due to various elements. It has cucumber in it which I love because it's so cooling and it smells so refreshing! In fact, it doesn't smell like cucumber but it smells really fresh. The patches are black and are made out of some sort of fabric. It is really creased when you apply it and it's hard to get it smooth but it fits around the eye really well. There is a hole in the middle so that you have space for your eye. It is so so cooling and feels great around the eye area! You are advised to leave it on between 10-20 minutes and I left it on for 15. I found that it didn't do that much but there was quite a bit of excess product left over when peeling it off so I just rubbed that into my skin and it felt really nice. It did remove a little of the purple from under my eye but it didn't have a significant effect so I wasn't very impressed with this as much as I was with the others. I won't be repurchasing this.

Overall, I am very happy with the outcome of the TonyMoly masks that I tried and I would love to try more! The only downside was probably the eye mask because it didn't really do much for me but the sheet and pore masks were amazing! I got mine from eBay but you can get them from Korean skincare sites too!

bottom of page