top of page
No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

Maybelline Master Contour V Stick


You’ll have probably heard of the contouring and highlighting trend and the whole cream contouring rave. I am a highlighting girl, I find that it completely changes my look and makes me look like a glowing goddess but I haven’t really been one for contouring. In the past I have tried powder contours and they haven’t worked for me so I kind of turned against it and didn’t see what everyone was thinking! Until I saw this product! I was in the airport going to Ireland and I noticed the Superdrug there so I decided to see what new products there was. I noticed this Maybelline Master Contour V Stick and decided to try it. I actually almost missed boarding the flight because I was shopping; what can I say, beauty blogging comes first! Anyway, I thought I’d give it a go!

The packaging is similar to the Clinique Chubby Stick but this one is pointed and has two parts to it; the contour and the highlight. The tube is black and it has white writing on so I think it looks quite sleek and good quality, it doesn’t look cheap at all! At the bottom there is a thick brown stripe which twists to retract the product which is great because you don’t have to sharpen it. If you did you would need a huge sharpener! I think that the design of this is really great because it’s a two in one so it’s good for traveling and also makes it all the more worth the money! The only issue I have with the packaging and design of this is with the actual product. The contour and highlight are directly next to each other so when I apply the contour it sometimes blends into the highlight which is a little inconvenient but that’s just being picky because that’s the only bad thing I really have to say about it.

Ok, so onto my favourite part of this product; the contour! This is the best contour I have ever tried! Most of the ones I have used in the past have been very warm toned and did not look natural on the skin at all, it just looked like a big orange stripe on my face. But this is the perfect colour, it’s a very cool toned brown and it is great for contouring. Before you use it, it looks like a warm brown in the tube but when you swatch and apply it is definitely a nice cool tone. I have always been a little apprehensive about using cream contour because I didn’t think it would blend out and it would just look awful. The formula of this is amazing! It is very creamy and glides on the skin so nicely without dragging. I just put it my cheekbones, jawline and side of the nose and it creates a really nice, defined shadow. It slims out the face and adds the perfect amount of definition. I tried this with a sponge and brush and it worked both ways. It blends out really nicely and doesn’t leave a harsh line. The brush method is definitely my favourite and I use the Jessup Round Top Kabuki which is quite dense making it very easy but using a damp sponge also works but this gives you a more sharp line. As this is a cream product, the lasting power is amazing! It lasts all day without smudging or bleeding and I love it so much! I bought this purely for the contour and I am so glad I did!

On the other hand, the highlight wasn’t so impressive. It’s not a bad product but it’s not as impressive as the contour! I use this under my eyes to brighten them and get rid of dark circles but when I use it, it just sits on top of my pores and makes them look bigger and a lot more obvious. When it’s blended in it doesn’t look so apparent however it doesn’t make them look great. The places I use this is just under the eyes and it’s ok but it doesn’t work wonders. The colour is a cream shade without any shimmer and it does hide the appearance of under eye bags but it doesn’t do anything more than a concealer would but it is nice to add on top.

I would say that, even though I didn’t like the highlight so much, this is definitely worth the money. For £6.99 you get a contour and a highlight which is great so it’s like £3.50 each! The contour is amazing and the highlight is good so it is overall a great product! I would buy this just for the contour because it truly is a life changing product, well maybe not life changing but near enough because it is very easy to blend and the colour is perfect for definition. This is £6.99 from Boots and Superdrug and there are two shades; 01 Light and 02 Medium.

bottom of page