top of page
No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

August Favourites 2016


I know I always say that the month has gone quick when I do these kinds of posts but I actually think that August has gone really slow; it feels like so long ago when I did my July favourites! This month has been a little muddled up in terms of blog posts as I went on holiday for a week and wasn’t able to upload whilst I was away so I published some all at once! I promise September will be much more organised! I can’t wait to share my favourites with you! I hope you are all enjoying your Summer while it lasts and, as much as I have enjoyed sustaining a tan, I am really excited for the Autumn/Winter months and, of course, Christmas! This month saw the release of the Too Faced x NikkieTutorials collection and I have loved watching tutorials of it! I am going to try and grab one from the Debenhams website and I will let you know how it goes! So, let’s stop the rambling and get into my loves of August!

This month I have been using only two sets of brushes and they are from the same brand which is SixPlus.You may have seen my post on the Royal Golden Brush Set and if you did you will know just how much I love them! As well as this set, the brand also sent me their blue set which is just gorgeous! Both sets are of such great quality and for the price I am just so happy with them and they are my complete favourite brushes ever! They have overtaken my Morphe and Real Techniques brushes which are great but I honestly do prefer these! They are all so soft, blend product so nicely and are gorgeous to display! Each set comes in a case which are both very travel friendly. I took only these on holiday and I didn’t miss any of my other brushes as there is all you need in these sets and I am just obsessed with them! The black set is £28.99 and the blue set is £35.99. Recently I have been getting into the brand Sleek. I had never tried anything from them before so I decided to get a few things from them to try! One thing that I have been using almost everyday is their blusher in Rose Gold. This is said to be a dupe for NARS Orgasm which is hella expensive so I thought I would get it! It is a gorgeous medium to deep pink with gold running through it and I find that it adds the most perfect flush to the cheeks! The packaging is matte black and it actually looks quite similar to NARS too which is really cool! It is really pigmented so you need the tiniest amount and it is really long lasting! This is only £4.99 so it is really affordable and great if you want to try Orgasm blush but don’t want to spend the £23! The other face makeup product I have been using non stop this month is from theBalm and it is the Bahama Mama. I use this to warm up my face but also to add a bit of definition and contour as well! I actually love using this in the crease of my eye as a transition shade. It is really versatile and lasts all day without smudging or going patchy! I am a huge fan of theBalm products and cannot wait to try more! And the packaging of everything is just gorgeous! I did an in depth review of it as well so if you haven’t already seen it then I’d love if you could! I have two products from L’Oréal that I have been using quite a lot and they are both fairly new. The first one is the Miss Hippie mascara. It comes in a black tube with the metallic orange lid and a really thick wand. This gives the lashes a huge amount of volume and length without being spidery or clumpy which is the most gorgeous effect! I bought this as soon as it came out and at first I didn’t like it because it began to run under my eyes which completely put me off. I started using it a little after that and it no longer did that! The drugstore holds so many great mascaras that I feel I don’t even need to try high end ones! This is £7.99. The other L’Oréal product is the Infallible Sexy Balm Sheer in the shade As If! I also did a blog post on this by the way! I have been loving it just as an everyday shade as it is a neutral pink with a lovely glossy sheen that lasts quite well for a gloss! It is so easy to wear and apply and I just really like it! FleurDeForce also really likes this so that makes me love it even more! When I haven’t been wearing this I have been wearing the NYX Lip Lingerie in the shade Bedtime Flirt. This is the perfect nude liquid lipstick which has a hint of pink in it. I have tried nude liquid lipsticks in the past and I struggled to find any without orange tones and I am really not a fan of this whatsoever! But finally I found this which has more of a pink undertone rather than orange. It is really natural for a liquid lipstick and dries down to a complete matte finish lasting so long! It is said to be a dupe for Kylie Lip Kit in the shade Candy K but I don’t personally have that so I can’t comment but I have heard quite a few times that it is. This is £6.50 from Boots so a really good bargain!

In terms of skincare, there is only really one thing that I have been using that is different and it is from Garnier. It is the PureActive Fruit Energy Daily Energising Gel Scrub. I bought this on a complete whim in Asda the day before my holiday and I took it with me and just loved it! It is for oily and spot prone skin which is what I have and it removes excess oil from the skin and leaves a nice luminous, but not oily finish. It smells really nice and fruity and feels amazing on the skin! I have used this everyday since I got it as it is really soft and not irritating so I love it for daily use! I have recently changed up my haircare routine also and I have just been using three products from OGX. These were kindly sent to me and I have been really liking them. They are all from the Moisture + Vitamin B5 Range and they include the shampoo, conditioner and weightless oil mist. They make my hair look and feel so much healthier and smell really nice too! It smells quite fruity with a warm scent to it as well. I was a bit apprehensive about using the mist as I have never used anything like it before but I have been using it non stop. I use it on damp hair after the shampoo and conditioner and also after straightening to add a natural shine. It doesn’t leave a sticky residue or flakes in the hair which is really surprising for me. These are all 3 for £15 at Boots along with many other OGX products.

And that’s pretty much it for my favourites! There aren’t that many but I really love them all so much and I recommend them all so much! I hope you had a lovely August and carry this on to September!

bottom of page