top of page
No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

Too Faced X NikkieTutorials The Power Of Makeup


NikkieTutorials is one of my favourite YouTubers so when I found out she was collaborating with Too Faced on a makeup collection I knew I had to have it! As always, the UK were one of the last countries to be able to get the collection but it was definitely worth the wait! I was there on Tuesday the 30th of August on the Debenhams website waiting for it to go live! I managed to get it and it actually didn’t go out of stock as quick as I thought it would have so they were very prepared! This is a little different to regular brand collaborations as it is a collection rather than just a palette which is another reason why I really wanted it! I wanted to review it for you because it may still be available in some places and I know before I bought it I really wanted to know if it was worth buying!

The packaging of the products in this set is absolutely stunning just like the creator, cringy I know! The box is a matte black colour with a design on the cover. It consists of light and dark pink, black and gold leopard print and the brand and name in a matte black circle in the centre. It looks so sleek and gorgeous, looks lovely on display on a dressing table! On the back of the box it shows the contents, with text and pictures which I personally find very helpful as pictures always make it fun and sometimes, you just feel too lazy to be reading and pictures are so much easier! The main product in the set is the palette which has the exact same design as the box with the leopard print and on the back is a paragraph from Too Faced all about Nikkie and the collaboration. The other little extras that come in the set are packaged in a leopard print zip lock bag. I love how everything looks and the quality of the packaging is really good! It is hard-wearing and very durable.

First off I’ll talk about the thing that people were most excited about, the palette! It opens up like a book and has a smooth magnetic closure. On the left, it is pink with the same logo and text as the front of the box and the right is gold. The palette comes with nine eyeshadows, two blushers, a bronzer and a highlight so it is pretty much everything you need in a palette! The blushes are two shades of the Love Flush blushes and the bronzer is the much loved Chocolate Soleil which I have always wanted to try and even in the palette it smells like yummy chocolate! The highlight is actually from the Too Faced Chocolate Bar palette and it is a shadow that Nikkie had been using so decided to put it in this palette in the bigger form! I want to go through every single shade of this palette as I think it is so important and it is what I look for when researching products and palettes! First I will start with the textures and durability of them. The eyeshadows have such strong pigmentation and are so smooth to apply! There are four matte shades and five shimmers which are all gorgeous; some more wearable than others. Usually matte shades aren’t that pigmented but with these, what you see in the pan is how it translates on the eyes which is great! They are smooth and feel really silky to apply. Even the lightest shade in the palette shows up really bright and these are possibly some of the best shades I have tried! A couple of the shimmery shades have chunky glitter in which I am not the biggest fan of and they have quite a bit of fall out. However I heard someone say that fall out is because of the strong pigmentation so that could be a good sign! These shimmers are so pigmented! With one swipe, you get full opaque colour and it is so amazing! There is one that I don’t find as pigmented as the others but I’ll get onto that later. You can use these wet also which intensifies the colour and makes it look more metallic and wet but I don’t find that necessary as they are already so pigmented anyway! These shadows do not crease, they last all day and do not fade or smudge one little bit! I had some of the mattes and shimmers on for about nine hours one time and it looked exactly the same at night as it did when I first applied them which is great! Normally it creases, fades and just runs away from my eyelids but these don’t! The blushes are the same! These are in a love heart shaped with the ‘TF’ engraved in the middle; they have the same design as the full size Love Flush blushes. I usually have an issue with blusher slipping away from my cheeks, fading and just completely leaving my face but with these, I don’t. They stay on for hours, not as long as the eyeshadows but still a very significant amount of time. I find that the bronzer and highlighter have the same amount of wear time and are all on par with each other! Now for the most exciting part, the colours! The first shade in the palette is Ivy. Named after Nikkie’s gorgeous dog, this is just a general matte white. I use this as a base to set primer and highlight the brow bone and inner corner. Next up is Sugar Coated. This is a shimmery pale pink with flecks of chunky silver glitter running through it. It has a tinge of champagne to it and when used wet, the colour intensifies and looks more pink than used dry. Frosted Yum is the third shade in the palette and it is a shimmery pale turquoise. This also has silver reflects in it and is such a gorgeous icy colour. On the second row we have Irresistible, Painkiller and Makeup & Chill. Irresistible is a yellow gold colour. This has to be one of my favourite shades in the palette! It has a tint of lime in it. When you use this wet it has the most gorgeous wet, metallic look. It feels so soft and creamy and I am so in love with it! Painkiller is the perfect transition shade for the crease. It is a matte, cool toned brown and there isn’t much more I can say about it other than it is such a lifesaver when it comes to blending! Makeup & Chill is also a great colour for the crease as it is a deep brown with a slight red undertone. It creates definition and is a warm brown. The last row of shadows is probably the most adventurous! Mystic Hour is such a gorgeous colour! It is a deep teal blue with a beautiful frosted, metallic finish. I am in love with this shade and it is something I would never normally go for but now I probably will wear more of! Wham Bam is a purple shade and I have to say I was a little disappointed with the colour pay off of this shadow. It is slightly pigmented but I found the other shades were much brighter. It is still a beautiful colour, a shimmery electric purple. And finally, Wanted which is a matte black. This is lovely as a subtle shadow liner and recently I have been loving this look! The blushers are also gorgeous! I Will Always Love You is a peach shade with slight shimmer running through it. Justify My Love is a bright pink with silver flecks of glitter. These are lovely used alone but I love them mixed together! When you mix them they give off a coraly colour and adds a really nice, natural flush to the cheeks. I have always wanted to try the Chocolate Soleil bronzer and I’m so happy that there is one in this set! From swatching, it isn’t the most pigmented but it is a very similar colour to Painkiller. It adds a nice sun kissed finish but because of my paleness, I can use it as contour. And finally we have Champagne Truffle. Highlight is one of my favourite parts of makeup and I have quite high standards when it comes to trying different ones. This one I can say, passes my test. It is a pink champagne colour with a silver undertone and I love it! It is great for pale skin and it smells like chocolate, what more do you want?

As well as the palette, there are some additional products in the set. You get a Glamour Guide with three different step by step tutorials on how to achieve some looks with the palette. You get a deluxe sized sample of the Shadow Insurance which I am really liking! It comes in a pale cornflower blue coloured tube with gold lettering. The colour of the product is a skin toned colour and it just evens out the eyelids and hides the veins. It definitely prolongs the wear of eyeshadow and helps to reduce creasing and it is my favourite eyeshadow primer I have ever tried! You then get a deluxe sized sample of the Better Than Sex Mascara. However, it isn’t just any mascara. It is a purple mascara! Even though it’s purple, it does look really nice on the lashes and it gives volume and length! It looks so gorgeous and I am considering purchasing the full sized version as I am just so impressed! You get a full sized Sketch Marker Eyeliner in Black which I was so excited about as I really wanted to try it! The retail price of this is £17 so it is really great to get it in this set! It looks like a calligraphy pen and the lid has a ‘TF’ and a love heart which is just so cute! It has a really fine tip so you can get a sharp wing and it’s slightly flexible making it so easy to use! It lasts all day without fading or running which is just great for me! Normally I wear eyeliner and by the end of the day, my lower lash line is just black! But with this one I don’t and I really like it! The final thing in the set is the glitter called Glitterally. I am not the biggest fan of glitters in general because they go everywhere and I just don’t really like them! This one is a really nice colour, an iridescent silver. It is quite difficult to use because you either pat it on with your finger and it goes everywhere! It falls under the eye and is quite difficult to remove because it just sticks to the skin. It is a real pain but the colour is really nice.

Overall I am so happy to have this collection in my life! The products are all so gorgeous and I love everything about it! This was £48, for the whole set, from Debenhams’ website and they may still have some in stock at the moment so get it quick before it goes!

bottom of page