top of page
No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

theBalm Meet Matt(e) Hughes Liquid Lipstick


theBalm is fast becoming one of my favourite makeup brands. Everything I have tried from them I have loved and I use their products every single day! My collection is slowly growing and I can’t wait to have more! The most recent product I have tried from them is a liquid lipstick, Meet Matt(e) Hughes. You may already know that liquid lipsticks are one of my most favourite makeup products ever! When I found out that theBalm had them I just had to try them! Being a fanatic, I have tried quite a few different liquid lipsticks, some extremely great and some terribly bad. Previous to testing these, my favourites were the Colourpop Ultra Matte Lips and NYX Lip Lingerie which are two very affordable products and theBalm had to be amazing for me to like it better!

The box is a pale beige shade with lots of detail! One of the main things that drew me to theBalm was the packaging as everything is just so perfect and looks great to use and have on display! It is quite similar to the design of Soap and Glory with the black and white pictures and really cute, and quite cringy quotes! On the front it has a woman and man drinking from straws, looking into each others eyes; it really is sweet. There is an arrow pointing to the man, which I assume is Matt(e), saying ‘bright and bold’. These little touches just make so much difference to me because it shows how much effort is put into the packaging and the product! On the top of the box, it shows the shade colour and name. Each of the shades are named after a different quality(of men); Adoring, Loyal, Devoted, Sentimental, Charming, Honest, Committed, Chivalrous, Dedicated, Doting, Sincere and Trustworthy. The shade range is amazing and there are so many gorgeous shades to choose from! The bottle is transparent with the same black and white image on the front with a silver lid.

The product has a medium length doe foot applicator which makes it really easy to control. The doe foot is really fluffy so when you apply it, it is really soft on the lips. When putting on the product, it just glides across the lips so smoothly and you can easily reach the corners without going out of the lines. From one sweep, the colour pay off is so high that you don’t need to go over it more than once. The pigmentation is absolutely amazing! I have the colour ‘Charming’ which is a deep mauve pink with a slight brown undertone and is really nice for Autumn and Winter. I don’t own any colour like this so for me it is really unique! The lipstick dries within a minute or two and it feels quite tingly. The scent is a sweet, peppermint and I think this is where the tingling comes from as it does feel minty. It isn’t too noticeable and the smell isn’t pungent so that definitely doesn’t put me off. When set, it turns to a velvety matte finish which feels so comfortable! I don’t find it drying and it doesn’t exaggerate cracked lips which is great! It gives my lips a fuller, poutier look and I really like it! After eating, it hardly changes. The colour fades a little on the inside but that’s expected. Other than that it completely stays put and does not budge! The formula of this is definitely one of my new favourites! It is soft, feels nice on the lips and hardly moves when eating and drinking so there isn’t really anything bad to say about them! One issue I normally find with liquid lipsticks is flaking. After eating, I normally have flakes and dry patches and it just does not look good but I have never experienced it with this product.

I really enjoy using this product and I am going to try more shades and more products from theBalm in the future for definite! The price range is between drugstore and high end because it isn’t expensive but it isn’t too cheap either. This is £13.79 and there are 12 shades to choose from so there will definitely be something for you! You can get these, along with lots of other theBalm products, from Beautyspin and Beautyspin US!

bottom of page